2016 African Player Of The Year Award

CAF Names 5-Man Shortlist For 2016 African Player Of The Year Award

The Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) have released their five-man shortlist for the 2016 African Player of the Year award.

CAF cut a longlist of nominees to just five ahead of the Glo-CAF Awards night in Abuja where the winner will be announced in January 2017.

Holder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is included; he won the award in 2015 for his impressive form for Bundesliga side, Borussia Dortmund.

Algeria international Riyad Mahrez also makes the list and is favourite to win the award after leading Leicester City to a shocking Premier League win in the year under review.

Mahrez scored 17 goals and had 12 assists to help Leicester City win their first league title in history.

His compatriot, Islam Slimani makes the list after his fantastic season with Sporting CP which earned him a move to Leicester City for a club record transfer fee.

Egypt’s Mohamed Salah is shortliste for his impressive performance for club and country in the year under review.

Senegal international and Liverpool forward Sadio Mane has also been shortlisted.

The shortlist for Africa-based Player of the Year has been released and it includes Mamelodi Sundowns F.C players Keegan Dolly (South Africa), Hlompho Kekana, (South Africa) Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe) Dennis Onyango (Uganda) and Rainford Kalaba of Zambia and TP Mazembe.

Recommended Posts