FIFA Announces New Award To Rival Ballon D’Or

FIFA Announces New Award To Rival Ballon D’Or

FIFA have announced ‘The Best FIFA Football Awards’ which is aimed to challenge the annual Ballon d’Or.

This comes after the end of the FIFA Ballon d’Or awards, formerly a coalition of magazine, France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the FIFA’s World Player of the Year award.

The first edition of ‘The Best FIFA Football Awards’ will hold in Zurich on January 9, 2017.

‘This event will be about football and its most passionate participants – players, coaches and fans. It is a new event with new approaches to celebrating the game we all love,’ FIFA president Gianni Infantino said.

Meanwhile, organisers of 2016 Ballon d’Or recently released their 30-man shortlist that included Jamie Vardy, Paul Pogba, as well as Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi – who have won the last eight Ballon d’Or awards.

A final three-man shortlist will be announced in December 2016 after the voting process has been completed.

FIFA has however hosted the World Player of the Year award from 1991 until 2009, before their collaboration with France Football and the Ballon d’Or for the past six years.

In FIFA’s new award ceremony, football fans will play a vital role in deciding the award recipients.

Here’s the list of eight awards that will be presented at the ceremony in January:

1. Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016

2. Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016

3. Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016

4. Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016

5. FIFA Puskas Award 2016 (goal of the year)

6. FIFA Fair Play Award 2016

7. FIFA Fan Award 2016

8. FIFA FifPro World11

Recommended Posts