President Buhari Swears In Seven New Ministers Amid Cabinet Reshuffle

President Muhammadu Buhari had on today, 6th July 2022 reshuffled his cabinet and sworn in seven recently appointed ministers who have just been confirmed by the Senate, this comes seven months before the upcoming 2023 Presidential elections.

Recall that there had been seven vacant ministerial seats in the Buhari administration for over a month now following the resignation of seven ministers who were contesting for various political offices in the upcoming 2023 general elections.The newly sworn in ministers took their oath of office on the floor of the Council Chamber shortly before proceedings for the Federal Executive Council Meeting started.President Buhari urged the new ministers to take their emergence as a call to duty which demands diligent service to the country.Some of the newly appointed ministers and their portfolios are: Ikechukwu Ikoh, Minister of State, Science and Technology; Umana Umana, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Udi Odum , Minister of State, Environment; Ademola Adegoroye, Minister of State, Transport.The rest are Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub, Minister of State, Works and Housing; Goodluck Opiah, Minister of State, Education and Nkama Ekumankama, Minister of State, Health.The President also reshuffled the offices of some of the previous ministers.Ministers re-reshuffled are: Senator Adeleke Mamora, Minister of Science and Technology (formerly Minister of State, Health); Mu’azu Jaji Sambo, Minister of Transportation (formerly Minister of State, Works and Housing). Sharon Ikeazor, Minister of State, Niger Delta (formerly Minister of State, Environment) and Sen. Gbemisola Saraki, Minister of State, Mines and Steel Development (formerly Minister of State, Transportation).The Federal Executive Council meeting had most of its members in physical attendance while only a few joined virtually.

Recommended Posts